Skip to content

Things To Do on a Snow Day … or the things I have learned from my children!

February 3, 2011

Wednesday was Chicago’s first snow day since 1999 and we all got to stay home with our kids.

At the end of the day, I thought about what a fun day it had been. Not a day of rest… I am one of those mothers who believe staying home with the kids can be way more tiring than going to work… but a fun day nonetheless!!

And as I started counting my favorite things about the day, I realized how much I had learned from my children.

1 – staying in pajamas until noon and taking it slow

Every morning, it is the same crazy routine. We want to sleep as late as we can… so must rush to get ourselves and the kids ready, to prepare lunch bags and to have breakfast…Well, that’s when we’re not running out the door a cereal bar in hand!!!

And the worst for my impatient type-A personality is that my 6-year-old daughter is never in a rush… she likes to stay in pajamas and it takes 10 minutes for her to put on one sock.

Well one of the great things about today was staying in pajamas until noon and taking it slow. We had nowhere to go; we knew we would not get much work done with the kids at home… so we just relaxed!!

2 – late brunch and baking

We had a late brunch and the kids asked for crepes. So we made crepes using the simplest recipe on earth: 2 eggs, 2 cups of flour and 3 cups of milk… and that’s it! My daughter can beat the eggs with a fork and my 2-year-old son can pour the cups I fill with milk or flower. They love cooking with mommy and it was not even that messy!! Luckily we had Nutella and sugar in the house 🙂

Once I saw that the eggs and the flour were already on the counter, I realized I had not baked in so long and tried two new recipes. The cheesecake was actually good but I’d rather not talk about the Chocolate cake. The neighbor’s dog would not eat it. I remembered why I did not bake more often… I am a much better cook than I am a baker!! You must measure ingredients precisely; it must stay in the oven for an exact number of minutes… all these rules… and the mess… I’ll stick to cooking!!!

3 – playing in the snow

Then we decided to go out and enjoy the snow. It took almost an hour until the layers and layers of clothing, the snow pants, the coats, the four hats and the eight gloves were on… The kids were so happy to play in the snow and it was contagious.

I even got down in the snow to make a snow angel and my husband and I got in a snowball fight. We pulled the kids on a sled and took out the beach toys! Well yeh, a shovel and a bucket can be a lot of fun even in the snow!!

The kids even cleared the snow off of our cars… who said we could not mix pleasure with a little business? Sometimes a little child labor is great for the kids 🙂

4 – hot apple cider

My kids are not big fans of hot coco but they felt left out when my hubby and I would drink coffee or tea. And one day we discovered the instant hot apple cider… they were delighted and so was I!! There even is a version with Splenda. And now that I try to cut the amount of caffeine I drink, this is the best.

When I drink it, I feel like I am at a ski resort sitting by the fire.

5 – taking a hot bath

And finally, the kids are _____________ (fill in the blank: [down for a nap] [in front of a cartoon] [playing with your amazing husband])… and you can take a hot bath.  It’s me-time. You can relax and do nothing… or you can read a magazine and play with your iPhone. Depends on your personality!!!

And the best part about the hot bath is the J&J bubble bath that I bought for my children but that I can steal from times to times. If you have never tried it, you must go get a bottle of the Sooth Vapor kind. Made with eucalyptus and menthol, it is very relaxing… and awesome if you have a cold!

All in all, we had a great day with the children– what about you? What are your favorite things to do on a Snow Day?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dani permalink
    February 3, 2011 9:57 pm

    I love this post, Guila! Your kids are so cute, and you’re much braver than I am – I always intend to bake with the kids and end up doing most of it myself to avoid the mess.

    How did you get your car back after the madness?

    • Guila permalink
      May 16, 2011 1:16 am

      Thanks Dani!

      I waited two days to give them time to clear the mess and went to pick it up on Thursday.
      It was towed by the city from the Lake Shore Drive. I got it from one of the parking lots along the Lake 🙂

Leave a Reply

